Lily James

Well I better put it on my blog that we are officially a family of four! Miss Lily James reluctantly decided to finally join our family on May 4th at 5:38pm. 

  
She outweighed her sister just by a few ounces. She came in at 8lbs 9oz and was 21 inches long. Brooklyn was 21.5 inches long but poor girl had quite the cone head for that first day. Lily, thankfully, did not. 

She was 8 days past my due date but I suspect she would have waited even longer if we didn’t force her out. My doctor gave me the option of different days to induce, since I was nearing my 42 week mark. I picked the earlier date since my parents were in town to help. Lily still was reluctant to come out. It took four hours on increasing doses of pitocin before my body even started going into labor. But once it started it went really quick.

I progressed very fast within an hour and a half. I’m also positive I would have had her in 2 hours if I didn’t get the epidural when I did. Once my body had the epidural it started to slow down again. When it came time to push it was very calm and slow. It was a few minutes between each contraction during the pushing phase. So it went something like this, ‘push, push, push…wait 3-4 minutes then repeat.’ Even though it didn’t take long for Lily to come out it was a very unusual situation. The nurse even said this doesn’t happen very often. I was very grateful for the calm, relaxed atmosphere though. I apparently just have strange reactions to things because after I would push, I would start laughing. I’m sure my nurse thought I was so weird!

Everything went well and we have a happy, healthy baby girl! Brooklyn has been doing really well with her and tells us that, “she’s so beautiful.” 

  
Lily looks almost exactly like Brooklyn did as a baby… Who looked just like James. Lily seems to have bigger feet though. Our best guess is that Brooklyn will be the shorter one and Lily will be taller. Lily has super blonde hair (no red in it, despite what a picture may show). 

  
We just love her faces! 

Leave a comment