I should have been a Surgeon

Remember my last post when I declared we had a near miss with Bushes knee so close to my due date?? Well I need to correct myself…

Bush of course had surgery! Why would I even think anything different would happen? Not that it was a big deal or drastic in any way but the irony, oh the irony. I have to admit though the best part of him having surgery is when they let me go in with him during his recovery time. He is a happy, flirty man when he is high on drugs! He cracks me up and the nurses too. He is also still very polite. I was laughing at all his ‘Thank you ma’am and Pleases’ when the nurse would come check on him. 

I feel fairly positive we tend to be a breath of fresh, nice air for nurses and doctors when we go in for this kind of stuff. I noticed how grumpy and blah most of the other people around us were. We however laugh and joke the entire time. The nurses were having a hard time getting an IV in Bush and they felt so bad but I just told them he’s use to it, obviously with all his hospital visits. 

We decided we are going to type up a past surgical list for any future surgeries, ER visits, Doctor visits, etc. We never fail to laugh when they ask about any previous surgeries. Bush simply says, “How far back do you want me to go?” We counted up the number of surgeries just since we have been married (going on 8 years) and the grand total came to…. 6 surgeries plus an extra overnight hospital visit. This doesn’t include his previous surgeries before we were married. I don’t think his parents gave me a good enough disclaimer about how accident prone he is. Oh well, I still would have married him.

Since moving away from Rangely and people who have known both of us for most of our lives it has been funny (to us) with how our sweet, kind friends have responded to this surgery. Don’t get me wrong we are beyond appreciative of our friends here in Dallas, it’s just that when we have responded so calmly to the situation I think most people thought it was strange. They just don’t know our history with surgery and Bush. While most would probably panic a bit at the timing of it with my due date only 3 weeks away, we have found it all amusing and right on track. 

One of our friends here happens to be a PA with ortho history. When I updated her after the surgery she said that Bush must be one of the only people she knows that would have that going on and not even complain about it. I laughed out loud because I remember when we had his last accident he just said something to the effect of it’s just a couple broken bones, no big deal (how wrong he was but we didn’t know it at the time).

Well back to an actual update on the knee. It was in fact Bursitis, however, (of course there is more to it) he was mainly swollen due to a lot of fibrotic tissue and not fluid. The tissue had a metallic look to it (not normal) and the bursa was pretty much destroyed. They sent it off for testing to see what the heck it is. The Doctor said to me how surprised he was he didn’t have more pain and didn’t have a major infection from it. I simply told him that Bush never quite fits the norm for things. 

Now that the surgery is done and recovery is underway we can start preparing for baby girl #2. We are praying and hoping for an easy birth and child. Shouldn’t that be part of our karma, after taking everything else is stride? We shall see though. 

My next post will most likely read…

” Baby girl arrived early. Just days before my mom could get here (of course). Our life is destined for adventure and moments of complete reliance on The Lord. And truthfully, we wouldn’t have it any other way.”

Well here are a few pictures from the last couple weeks. 

   

I’m still making it to CrossFit most days of the week. (I successfully lifted this weight, in case you were wondering). The gym has been my sanity during this pregnancy.

  

Brooklyn in her Easter dress. Although to her it’s her princess dress.

 

As if we didn’t have enough to do, this is the current state of our bathroom. Yes, we like to do everything all at once.

Leave a comment